Are you ready? Am I ready? 83 sleeps to go!

Ooh, my first post! This is actually quite daunting; my writing is usually just that. Mine. Not splashed all over the internet. But 2013, I decided, would be the year I take the plunge and start publishing my writing. It’s just convenient that I’m spending a week in Myanmar,  three days in northern Thailand’s hilltribe villages and all five days of Songkran (Thai New Year) in Chiang Mai in April. There’ll be interesting things to read and Mum will be able to keep up with our travels!

When Aung San Suu Kyi was elected as part of the opposition in Myanmar’s lower house in their recent elections, Patrick was so excited. “Finally! Finally, it may be safe to visit Myanmar!” He’s been eager to go ever since we met. Early last year, a deal was struck between Patrick and our mate John that niether would go to Myanmar without the other. Soon enough, we’d planned a week long tour through Yangon, Bagan and Mandalay, which then spiraled into a three day tour of northern Thailand’s hilltribe villages and five days in Chiang Mai, to experience the Songkran festival. Patrick began drawing up finance tables and I started reading everything I could get my hands on. My reading list so far can be found here.

I am equally as excited as I am terrified; I love traveling but Myanmar and the hilltribe villages are quite unknown and I’m not sure what I’m in for!

Keep your eyes peeled for our itinerary which I’ll post shortly. Only 83 sleeps to go (not that I’m counting)!

Leave a Reply

